Astrology Dictionary C Page 2

Astrological Definitions and their Meaning: Cardinal Houses, Cardinal Signs, Celestial, Celestial Latitude and Celestial Longitude, Celestial Spheres and Celestial Poles, Ceres, Chakra (Cakra)
Cardinal Houses
There are 4 Cardinal House's in Astrology and these exist in the first, fourth, seventh and tenth houses. They are also sometimes referred to as Angular houses as they are located in the angles of a birth chart. The Cardinal house's are named and known as as the Ascendant, the Midheaven, the Imum Coeli and the Descendant. In a horoscope they are thought to have quite an impact creating strong influences. These angular house's concentrate on lots of areas of a person's life and can have a significant effect on personality, partnerships and careers.
Cardinal Signs
These are also known as moveable signs and refer to the astrological signs of Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn. They are believed to represent each quarter of the year and their associated four changing seasons. Spring's beginning is connected to Aries, Summer's to Cancer, Autumn's to Libra and Winter's to Capricorn. The Cardinal signs are thought to be linked to all kinds of movement, change and action. The word Cardinal is from ancient Latin name for 'hinge' and this may explain their initiation of seasonal and new inceptions.
The word Celestial comes from the Latin word caelestis and translated to the English of today means pertaining to the skies and heavens. It also pertains to the invisible or spiritual heaven or celestial navigation. In Astrology the term Celestial is used to describe the bodies of planets and stars with significance in this mysterious form of science. Astrology uses celestial representations for gaining psychological and predictive knowledge based on their movements and influences. This celestial guidance is the main force behind astrological ideas.
Celestial Latitude and Celestial Longitude
Celestial Latitude is the astrological measurement of the Sun's path in a North or South direction in a birth chart. Celestial Longitude is a measure of the Sun's course of movement from East to West. Latitude comes from the Latin latitudo meaning breadth and Longitude is derived from the Latin longitudo meaning length. In an Astrology interpretation these measurements can help estimate the influential power of nearby planets. This will then in turn explain how sometimes a planet's authority is not as strong as usual or weak in some areas.
Celestial Spheres and Celestial Poles
In the Greek philosopher Plato's Model of the Universe he imagined the insides of planetary forms to be contained and surrounded by translucent spheres. It was not until the 16th Century that planets were discovered to be spherically shaped matter orbiting the Sun and subject to the forces of gravity. A Celestial Pole is connected to and measured by the rotation of the Earth. It takes around 365 days for the Earth to orbit the Sun. The Earth's axis in line with the Sun's path gives us the coordinates of the North and South Celestial Poles for Astrology.
This is the name of the first and largest asteroids to be discovered in our Solar System. It was found by Giuseppe Piazzi in 1801 and was named after Ceres the daughter of Saturn. She was sister of Jupiter, Neptune and Pluto in mythology and considered the Great Mother and the Goddess of fertility. Wherever Ceres puts in an appearance in a birth chart it is believed that her incredible nurturing skills will have an influence. Ceres in signs points out how we nurture and what makes us feel nurtured, in Houses it shows how we express and receive love.
Chakra (Cakra)
Chakra is an Indo-European term meaning wheel and is mostly referred to in Jyotish or Vedic type Astrology. Its ideology and teachings concern seven designated major energy centers in the body that need to be in complete balance and harmony to work effectively. The 7 special represented areas of a person are the crown, third eye, throat, heart, solar plexus, sacral as well as the base or root Chakra's. Damage to a Chakra can create more than physical problems for an individual and is thought to induce emotional symptoms and dysfunctions along with it.
Next astrological definitions of Astrology Dictionary for letter C:
Chaldean Order, Chaldeans, Chandra, Chariot, Chart, Chiron, Chronocrators