Astrology Dictionary C Page 3


Astrology Dictionary C Page 3

Chaldean Order

Chaldean Order is believed to have been initiated by ancient Astronomers studying the locations of planets. This particular order of Saturn first, then Jupiter, Mars, the Sun, Venus, Mercury and finally the Moon is used in Astrology. The planets are ranked in the rates of their speed. Saturn is the fastest moving celestial body and the Moon is the slowest. For astrological thought the slower a planet moves the more powerful its influence. Chaldean Order concerns timelines and these are the main basis for the predictive powerfulness of Astrology.


The city of Mesopotamia and the ancient Chaldeans are thought to be the place and people who first introduced the concept of astrological thought. These ancient Astrologers believed the World had no beginning and no end and that all things were ordered divinely. The Chaldeans are thought to have been the inventors of the day, month and year and followers of early Solar and Lunar calendars. They identified the Sun, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Mercury as particularly important interpreters of celestial influences. The Chaldean's are also known to have been the creators of a primitive 12 sign zodiacal system.


Chandra is the name for the Verdic astrological Moon and is thought to represent emotions, imagination and connections with a person's Mother. In this type of Astrology Chandra, or the Moon, rules over Karka which is the zodiac sign of Cancer. A Chandra Lagna is the term used in Verdic and Hellenistic methods to describe the placement of the Moon, rather than the Sun, as the Ascendant sign. In Hindu Astrology the God of the Moon is named Chandra and it is regarded as the most favorable planet to be born under. It's Sanskrit meaning of 'illustrious' reinforces it's promise of wealth and happiness.


In Astrology the Chariot is a name introduced by Ptolemy in his Tetrabiblos Book 1 to describe a planetary position. He wrote 'each planet is said to be in its chariot when it holds familiarity with the place it occupies by 2 or more modes of connection'. He went on to write 'its influence and energy are especially augmented' and these ancient words are a good explanation of the astrological use of the term Chariot. In modern Astrology it is thought a placement of essential dignity bringing with it a favorable and increased authority to the planet concerned. In a natal chart it can signify enhancement of awareness in the area it falls in.


In Astrology the word Chart will usually refer to a natal chart used by Astrologers to map an individual's date and time of birth. It is a representation of the positions of the planets and stars at that particular moment in time. A birth chart contains planetary locations within the 12 signs or houses of the cosmic zodiac circle. This information can be interpreted by studying the aspects formed between the planets and their relationships with each other. The natal chart can reveal all areas of the personality and how we approach the world around us as well as the goals in life we are likely to pursue.


Chiron is the name for a newly discovered Asteroid recognized and explored in Astrology to add more insight to natal interpretations. The symbol for Chiron is similar to a key formed with the letters O and K meaning Object Kowal after the discoverer Charles Kowal. In a birth chart Chiron is thought to highlight the areas in life where we may suffer spiritual wounds. It is nicknamed 'the wounded healer' as it reveals our healing potential and is believed to direct us towards overcoming inadequacies and rising above them. Chiron is considered slow in movement with its transits being long lasting and is situated in our Solar System alongside Saturn and Uranus.


Chronocrators is the title mainly given to the planets Jupiter and Saturn due to them being considered 'markers of time'. It was observed in ancient times that the 2 planets possessed the longest orbit durations of 12 years for Jupiter and 30 years for Saturn. Conjunctions of these two celestial bodies only occurs once every 800 to 960 years and is called climacteria or maxima. These have usually marked significant eras in the history of mankind. There are also measurements for 20 year conjunctions known as minimus or specialis and a 200 year cycle referred to as media or trigonalis.

Next astrological definitions of Astrology Dictionary for letter C:

Climacterical Periods, Coalescent Chart, Combust, Composite, Conjunct, Constellations, Contra-Antiscion

Comments: Astrology Dictionary C Page 3

B i Ʉ




Daily horoscope

























Copyright © 2021 GotoHoroscope, all rights reserved. Developed by Contact Us or check Site Map.